Skip to main content


Picture Book Awards

Jacqueline Woodson standing before a display of awards

Coming On Home Soon

  • Charlotte Zolotow Honor
    • Utah Beehive Book Award Master List
    • Arizona (nominee)
    • California (nominee)
    • Georgia (nominee)
    • Indiana (nominee)
    • North Carolina (nominee)
    • Ohio (nominee)
    • South Carolina (nominee) )

The Other Side

    • Indiana (nominee)
    • Michigan (honor)
    • Texas (nominee)

Pecan Pie

  • ALA Notable
  • Booklist Best Book
  • Ebony magazine’s favorite children’s books of 2010
  • New York Public Library’s 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing
  • Bank Street Best Book
  • CCBC Choices
    • Georgia (nominee) )

Show Way

  • Booklist Editor’s Choice
  • BookLinks Lasting Connections
    • Indiana (nominee)
    • Georgia (nominee)
    • Louisiana (nominee)
    • South Carolina (nominee)
    • Tennessee (nominee)
    • Pennsylvania (nominee)
    • Michigan (nominee) )

This Is the Rope

  • New York Times Book Review Notable Children’s Books of 2013
  • Charlotte Zolotow Award Honor
  • 2014 CCBC Choices
    • Choose to Read Ohio booklist 2015 & 2016
    • 2015 Kentucky Bluegrass Awards (nominee)
    • Maryland Blue Crab Young Readers Award 2014 Honoree (Transitional Fiction Category)
Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson is an American writer of books for adults, children, and adolescents. She is best known for her National Book Award-Winning memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, and her Newbery Honor-winning titles After Tupac and D Foster, Feathers, and Show Way. Her picture books The Day You Begin and The Year We Learned to Fly were NY Times Bestsellers. After serving as the Young People’s Poet Laureate from 2015 to 2017, she was named the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature by the Library of Congress for 2018–19. She was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 2020. Later that same year, she was named a MacArthur Fellow.