Skip to main content

The Hans Christian Andersen Award!

Hans Christian Anderson Award
Big news! I was honored to receive The Hans Christen Andersen Award! This is the highest international recognition given to an author of children’s books, to recognize lifelong achievement. The Author’s Award has been given since 1956 and consists of a gold medal and a diploma. You can read more about it on my Awards page.
Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson is an American writer of books for adults, children, and adolescents. She is best known for her National Book Award-Winning memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, and her Newbery Honor-winning titles After Tupac and D Foster, Feathers, and Show Way. Her picture books The Day You Begin and The Year We Learned to Fly were NY Times Bestsellers. After serving as the Young People’s Poet Laureate from 2015 to 2017, she was named the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature by the Library of Congress for 2018–19. She was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 2020. Later that same year, she was named a MacArthur Fellow.