Skip to main content
Jacqueline Woodson

Picture Books

book cover of The Other Side

The Other Side

Illustrated by E.B. Lewis

Two girls, Clover and Annie, become friends in a small, segregated town.

Where it takes place:

In a small rural town—I didn’t have a specific state in mind.

Where I wrote it:

Upstate in Olive, New York and at The Writer’s Room in Manhattan.

Why I wrote it:

I wanted to write about how powerful kids can be. Clover and Annie fight against segregation by becoming friends. They don’t believe in the ideas adults have about things so they do what they can to change the world. We all have this power.

  • ALA Notable
  • Riverbank Review Children’s Book of Distinction
  • Texas Blue Bonnet List
  • School Library Journal Best Book
  • Booklist Editor’s Choice
  • New York Public Library’s 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing
  • 2001 Time of Wonder Award
  • IRA Teacher’s Choices 2002 (featured on covers of The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Booklist and The Baltimore Sun)
  • 2004 Louisiana Young Reader’s Choice Award (Honor)
  • 2003-2004 Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Master List California Young Reader Medal Nominee
  • 2003-2004 South Carolina Book Award Nominee
State lists
  • Indiana (nominee)
  • Michigan (honor)
  • Texas (nominee)
Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson is an American writer of books for adults, children, and adolescents. She is best known for her National Book Award-Winning memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, and her Newbery Honor-winning titles After Tupac and D Foster, Feathers, and Show Way. Her picture books The Day You Begin and The Year We Learned to Fly were NY Times Bestsellers. After serving as the Young People’s Poet Laureate from 2015 to 2017, she was named the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature by the Library of Congress for 2018–19. She was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 2020. Later that same year, she was named a MacArthur Fellow.