Skip to main content
Jacqueline Woodson

Middle Grade/Young Adult

Book cover of Harbor Me

Harbor Me

6 kids who learn differently are sent to a different room every Friday. There, with no adults present, they begin to reveal things the others didn’t know about their lives.

Where it takes place:

In the Crown Heights section of Brooklyn.

Where I wrote it:

In Brooklyn and while I was traveling around the country.

Why I wrote it:

I have so many questions. Sometimes, writing is the only way I can answer them.

Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson is an American writer of books for adults, children, and adolescents. She is best known for her National Book Award-Winning memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, and her Newbery Honor-winning titles After Tupac and D Foster, Feathers, and Show Way. Her picture books The Day You Begin and The Year We Learned to Fly were NY Times Bestsellers. After serving as the Young People’s Poet Laureate from 2015 to 2017, she was named the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature by the Library of Congress for 2018–19. She was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 2020. Later that same year, she was named a MacArthur Fellow.